Who we are?

Aveverum logo

International Choral Competition Ave Verum

Baden near Vienna is not only a famous Austrian spa but also an incredible junction of artistic lives:

W. A. Mozart, L.v. Beethoven, F. Schubert, J. Strauß, C.M. Zierer, F. Lehar, M. Reinhardt, A. Schnitzler, A. Rainer - all composed or lived here for a while, inspired by this faboulos city.

This circumstance and being an international jury member to various choral events made Wolfgang Ziegler, a well-known composer und choral director, founding a small but unique choral competition. The International Choral Competition Ave Verum is a top choral event for only 10 choirs worldwide –organised in every 2 years.

What makes it special is that all choir formations compete in one category, singing for the Grand Prix ICC AV.

The competition is judged by an internationally acknowledged jury such as, Javier Busto (Spain), Vytautas Miskinis (Latvia), Robert Sund (Sweden), Maria Goundorina (Russia), Mia Makaroff (Finland), Brady Allred (USA), Karmina Silec (Slovenia), Jing Ling Tam (USA), Erwin Ortner (Austria), Heinz Ferlesch (Austria), Fritz ter Wey (Germany) and Franz Herzog (Austria) – among others.

Besides the two competition parts the „Long Night of Choral Music“ is a real highlight. All 10 choirs sing together at the end of their short programs Mozart’s „Ave verum corpus“ which was first performed at the same place in 1791. Come along and feel the essence of music history!

We can’t wait finding out who will take the ICC AV Grand Prix in 2019!

The ICC AV team - a motivated group of volunteers

Wolfgang Ziegler

ICC AV president

Gottfried Zawichowski

ICC AV vice-president

Katalin Janosi

ICC AV deputy and secretary

Judit Ritz

ICC AV finances

Heinrich Fragner

ICC AV public relations

Maria Zeugswetter

ICC AV catering

Dr. Wolfgang Zeugswetter

ICC AV facility management

Sylvia Peyfuss

ICC AV opening ceremony

Dr. Hans Diwoky

ICC AV finances

Irena Noskova

ICC AV jury secretary

Luca László

ICC AV organization

Monika Ableidinger

ICC AV organization